circa MMXVII, III

Lucy C
1 min readJun 28, 2021

--

I am only ever me

by accident

and you kept repeating that you were sorry

as if it was the chorus of a song

in the quiet lull of my favourite catacombs,

almost transparent blue and so quiet I can

sometimes cut through the stillness with

the pointed scalpel of imagination

I slump into the looking glass and ponder

if the dark wells of my eyes are mine or not

I know time is short and I must come and go

before dawn breaks the somber charm of gloom

and I have to slip back into the skin so worn out

the supple truth of me threatens to slip through the cracks,

further

eyes so dark and sharply drawn

they have a sinister semblance

are you gentle, or are you foul?

Hands that linger on the scars of my knees and rise

to wipe ferociously across a quivering front

impatient and nagging until the skin rips off

and deftly slides to the floor along with the gaze

now only pitch-black and so unadorned

eyes so much like uncurtained windows

agape open bare and made passable by the boldness of me

with no otherness to fool or awe

through,

I know they hunt my silence like a peril

--

--

Lucy C

Disorderly wordsmith with a cup of tea that never gets cold and the kind of invincible ink that never runs dry.